PBS Kids Go! Writers Contest

Congratulations to MPTV’s 2010 writing contest winners!

Thank you to all of the 715 children, kindergarten through grade three, who entered our 16th. annual writers contest. We acknowledge all of the talent and hard work that went into creating the entries and thank you for sharing your stories with us. We also appreciate the teachers and caring adults who encouraged and guided children through the task of creating an illustrated story. In our eyes, you are all winners.

Contest Winners

20 Local MPTV Winners: May 2010 Reception

Our 20 MPTV winners were honored at an awards reception in May 2010. The stories of the first place winners in each grade level went on to national competition.

For more information about the 2011 contest, contact Darlyne Haertlein, outreach services supervisor at 414-297-7518 or haertled@matc.edu. Our MPTV deadline for entries is Monday, March 7, 2011.

Funding for the PBS KIDS GO! Writers Contest is provided in part by the Harley-Davidson Foundation.


Contest Winners

Filumena M. receives her National Second Place award from Ellis Bromberg, General Manager of MPTV

Two MPTV/ 10&36 contestants have won 2010 national book writing awards. The PBS KIDS GO! Writers Contest has awarded Filumena M., Milwaukee, a national second place in grade two for her original story “My Angel Wings.” Ethan H., Franksville, has received the national second place in grade three for his story “Desk; A totally True Tale of Terror.”

Filumena and Ethan are two of twelve national winners who were selected from a pool of over 25,000 submissions. Both children have previously won national awards as well. Filumena’s “Family Zoo” won first place in 2008, and Ethan’s “Monster in My Pocket” won first place in 2008, and his “The Mystery of the Old Green Purse” won first place in 2009.

The national entries were selected by a panel of America’s foremost children’s authors, illustrators, and content experts including Ann M. Martin, author of The Baby-sitters Club series; R. L. Stine, author of the Goosebumps series; Marc Brown, creator of Arthur, Tony DiTerlizzi, creator of The Spiderwick Chronicles; and Lisa Henson, CEO of the Jim Henson Company, among others.

Contest Winners

Ethan H. enjoys his National Second Prize -- a digital camera!

As 2010 national second place winners, both Filumena and Ethan receive digital cameras at a reception in their honor at MPTV/10 & 36 this summer. Winning stories can be seen on ReadyToLearnReading.org. The national winners will have narration on the website. Jessica from THE ELECTRIC COMPANY will narrate Filumena’s story and Shock from TEC will narrate Ethan’s story.

Funding for Milwaukee Public Television’s PBS KIDS GO! Writers Contest is provided in part by the Harley-Davidson Foundation.

For more information, contact the MPTV writing contest coordinator and outreach services supervisor, Darlyne Haertlein at 414-297-7518 or haertled@matc.edu.