Press Releases

WISCONSIN PERSONALITY JOHN MCGIVERN TRAVELS THROUGHOUT STATE TO EXPLORE HOW WISCONSINITES LIVE

January 7, 2014


After two seasons and 26 visits to local communities, AROUND THE CORNER WITH JOHN MCGIVERN has become a fan favorite on Milwaukee Public Television (MPTV). The much-anticipated third season of AROUND THE CORNER WITH JOHN MCGIVERN premieres January 9, and McGivern will take viewers to 13 new communities from all corners of the state.

"It only took 2 seasons, 26 episodes and an Emmy, but now I finally feel like I know what I'm doing," said John McGivern. "Season three is terrific, and we added a new segment this season. I'm thrilled to welcome my brother Mike, also known as "Big Time" on Sports Radio 1250, who's doing "Sports for a Minute" because before him, our sports coverage was admittedly limited."

AROUND THE CORNER WITH JOHN MCGIVERN airs Thursdays on MPTV 10.1 HD and 36.2 at 7:00 PM, and re-broadcast on Fridays on MPTV 36.1 HD at 8:00 PM. Also, MPTV will host a screening event in each featured community prior to the air date of the episode. Screening events are free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served.

COMMUNITY FEATURED/
EPISODE AIR DATE/
SCREENING EVENT DATE AND TIME

Hartford
Thursday, January 9
Wednesday, January 8 - Schauer Center - 7:00 PM

Westown (Milwaukee)
Thursday, January 16
Monday, January 13 - Bradley Center, Courtside Club - 5:00 PM

Geneva Lake
Thursday, January 23
Sunday, January 19 - Horticultural Hall - 1:00 PM

Sheboygan Falls
Thursday, January 30
Sunday, January 26 - Rangeline Inn - 1:00 PM

Mitchell Street (Milwaukee)
Thursday, February 6
Monday, February 3 - St. Anthony's Keiser Hall - 7:00 PM

Prairie du Chien
Thursday, February 13
Sunday, February 9 - City Hall, Community Room - 2:00 PM

Cudahy
Thursday, February 20
Monday, February 17 - K Ranch, Banquette Room - 7:00 PM

Wausau
Thursday, February 27
Sunday, February 23 - UW-Marathon County - Time TBD

Chippewa Falls
Thursday, March 6
Sunday, March 9 - Micon Cinemas - 3:00 PM

West Allis
Thursday, March 20
Wednesday, March 19 - Wisconsin State Fair Park - Time TBD

Oconomowoc
Thursday, March 27
Monday, March 24 - Art Center - 7:00 PM

La Crosse
Thursday, April 3
Saturday, March 22 - Weber Arts Center - 2:00 PM

Washington Heights (Milwaukee)
Thursday, April 10
Monday, April 7 - Times Cinema - 7:00 PM

John Gurda Special
Thursday, April 17
Screening Date, Time and Location TBD

AROUND THE CORNER WITH JOHN MCGIVERN highlights a new community each week. The series explores life in 13 Wisconsin communities, focusing on the unique qualities of one area in each episode. McGivern goes behind the scenes to talk with employers, residents and other people familiar with the locale to discover how they live, work and play. The 30-minute episodes also feature background information on each locale from local history expert John Gurda.


About MPTV
Milwaukee Public Television (MPTV) is southeastern Wisconsin's premier non-commercial media organization. MPTV consists of two high-definition television stations, WMVS and WMVT, and seven additional digital television services. The MPTV stations are the area's only over-the-air source for PBS and other national public television programs, and also offer a diverse schedule of their own award-winning local series and specials. The stations are watched by over 900,000 viewers each week throughout southeastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois.

For more information, visit www.mptv.org.
###

Contact:
Erin Eaton, Publicist/Grant Writer
E: eatones@matc.edu
P: (414) 297-8229

Julie Hill Lehr, Manager-Marketing and Community Engagement
E: hilllej@matc.edu
P: (414) 297-7518