Press Releases

MPTV Launches World Channel

August 9, 2007

MPTV World will begin offering the best of PBS news, nature and other nonfiction programming on Milwaukee Public Television Wednesday, Aug. 15, at 6 a.m. The new digital channel is available on MPTV 10-1 and Time Warner Cable 550.

The one-stop, 24 hour service will carry popular, highly respected series such as American Experience, History Detectives, Frontline, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, and the Tavis Smiley Show. Ken Burns' The War and other specials, along with documentaries and public affairs programs, also will be available.

"Viewers will have convenient access to informed commentary, thought-provoking stories of scientific advances, the lessons of history, and independent documentaries," said Ellis Bromberg, MPTV's general manager. "This new service will be a great source of reliable, in-depth information about the world."

The service will debut on more than 55 public televisions stations across the country in August, reaching more than 27 percent of U.S. households, according to PBS.

MPTV World replaces MPTV Later, which has been providing a repeat of programming on MPTV-10. Most of the nonfiction programming that previously aired on MPTV Later will be on MPTV World, often in multiple slots.

Charlie Rose is scheduled for 5 a.m. and 4 p.m. weekdays, and Bill Moyers Journal is available at 7 p.m. and 1 p.m. on Mondays as well as twice on Sundays. History Detectives appears several times in the weekly schedule; NOVA will air Saturdays at 6 a.m. and 12 noon and other times. Viewers will be able to link to the MPTV World website to check listings through the station's website,

MPTV World is one of several new services, special events and local programs commemorating Milwaukee Public Television's 50th anniversary. Since its inception, MPTV
has educated, entertained and inspired. Today, viewers enjoy a broad choice of quality programs on MPTV-10, MPTV-36, MPTV-HD and an array of digital services.

MPTV is a viewer-supported service of Milwaukee Area Technical College.