Press Releases

Contest Winners Announced

March 25, 2010

Four Advance to National Competition

Milwaukee, WI - In a field of over 700 outstanding entries, 20 local children in grades K4 through three are recognized as recipients of 2010 PBS Go! Writers Contest Awards (formerly the Reading Rainbow Young Writers and Illustrator Awards). The first place winner in each grade advances to the national level competition. Winning stories are taped and aired on MPTV 10.1 HD and MPTV 36.1. All winners are recognized with certificates of achievement and honored at an awards reception in May.

MPTV has sponsored the contest for young children for 16 years. To date, MPTV has had 16 national winners and is the only public television station to have four national winners in one year. Parents and teachers encourage children to create books that are original, creative, and well-illustrated examples of storytelling.

First place winners are "A Perfect Home" by Pasqualina Muro, Bruce Guadalupe Community School, Milwaukee (kindergarten); "Nurdle Makes a Friend" by David Gonzales, Raymond School, Franksville (grade one); "My Angel Wings" by Filulmena Muro, Bruce Guadalupe Community School, Milwaukee (grade two); and "Desk: A Totally True Tale of Terror" by Ethan Hansen, Raymond Elementary School, Franksville (grade three).

Local first-place winners in each grade level (K through grade 3) will be entered into the national level of the contest, where a panel of judges will identify the national winners. Winners will be announced and national prizes, including First Place laptops, Second Place digital cameras, and Third Place MP3 players will be awarded in summer 2010. In addition, all national winners will have their stories published online on and will receive a certificate.

The complete list of winners and entries follows.

1st place-Pasqualina Muro-"A Perfect Home" (Milwaukee)
2nd place-Dewey Rewolinski-"The Lion's Teeth" (Caledonia)
3rd place-Vincenzo Weidner-"My Trip to Nonna and Nonno's House" (Kenosha)
Special Merit-Ashlyn Edquist-"I'll Just Be Myself" (Union Grove)

Grade One
1st place-David Gonzales-"Nurdle Makes a Friend" (Franksville)
2nd place-Karly Martinez-"Wonderful Seasons" (Union Grove)
3rd place-Lucianabella Muro-"I Love To Dance" (Milwaukee)
Special Merit-Camarae Good-"Take Me South V" (Franksville)
Special Merit-Casey Brown-"Pork Splash!" (Ripon)

Grade Two
1st place-Filumena Muro-"My Angel Wings" (Milwaukee)
2nd place-MacKenzie Geschke-"The Best Birthday Party Ever" (Franksville)
3rd place-Mia Lee-"Grandpa and Me" (Milwaukee)
Special Merit-Caitlin Hunter-"The Unexpected" (East Troy)
Special Merit-Ava Klawitter-"Oh, How I Wish!" (Wisconsin Rapids)
Special Merit-Emily Zeller-"Bob the Robber and King Jeff" (Union Grove)

Grade Three
1st place-Ethan Hansen-"Desk: A Totally True Tale of Terror" (Franksville)
2nd place-Gabrielle Jensen-"Lasted" (Kenosha)
3rd place-Maddy Hansen-"My Sister has Autism" (Franksville)
Special Merit- Reid LaBell-"Delay of Game" (Kenosha)
Special Merit- Janie Hodny-"Four Seasons" (Campbellsport)

The 20 local winners are invited to an awards ceremony and reception in May. Local winning entries are also videotaped and aired on MPTV 10.1 HD & 36.1. All entries are acknowledged with a certificate and small prize.
Funding for the PBS Go Writers Contest is provided by the Harley-Davidson Foundation.

For more information, contact Darlyne Haertlein, MPTV Outreach Services at
(414) 297-7518 or

Since its inception, MPTV has educated, entertained and inspired. Today MPTV offers viewers a family of nine digital channels to choose from, 24 hours a day, seven days a week: 10.1 HD (Time Warner Cable 1010) 36.1 (TWC 16 or 1016), 36.2 Vme (TWC 975), 36.3 World (TWC 976) 36.4 Create (TWC 977), 36.5 Classical (TWC 978), 36.6 Jazz (TWC 979), 36.7 Weather (TWC 980), and 36.8 Traffic (TWC 981). MPTV is a viewer-supported service of Milwaukee Area Technical College.
# # #
Follow us on: