Press Releases

Two Wisconsinites selected as winners of PBS Teachers Innovation Awards

June 13, 2011

Two Wisconsinites selected as winners of PBS Teachers Innovation Awards

Milwaukee, WI (June 13, 2011) -- MPTV(WMVS), WPT(WPNE), and PBS Teachers are proud to announce the winning entries for the 2011 PBS Teachers Innovation Awards in recognition of the educators' creative and inventive use of public media to engage students and improve learning. Sponsored by The Henry Ford and SMART Technologies, the second annual PBS Teachers Innovation Awards honors teachers who continuously strive to inspire young minds and cultivate the nation's next generation of innovators and leaders. First place was awarded to the top 12 educators, one from each of 12 subject and grade-level groupings, and 28 educators were selected as second place winners.

Receiving a first place in the "Reading and Language Arts/Secondary Level" was Elizabeth Jorgensen (pictured) of Arrowhead Union High School, Hartland, Wisconsin, from the MPTV/WMVS viewing area of Southeastern Wisconsin. Receiving a second place was Paula Averkamp of Green Bay, in the WPT/WPNE viewing area.

First place winners receive a unique week long "Innovation Immersion Experience" at The Henry Ford in Dearborn, Michigan, from July 31 to Aug. 5, 2011; a SMART Slate wireless slate; free enrollment in a PBS TeacherLine online professional development course; and a tote bag of PBS educational resources. Second place winners receive an exclusive educator's kit filled with tools and instructional technology resources for the classroom from PBS.

A gallery of the winning entries is featured at PBS Teachers. This is a web portal to PBS' preK-12 educational services and its searchable library of more than 9,000 free local and national standards-based instructional resources, including on-demand video and interactive games.

All of the "PBS Teacher Innovators" are invited to work with PBS and member stations to encourage the utilization of public digital media and innovative teaching practices in classrooms across the country.

MPTV and WPT wish to thank all the Wisconsin teachers in math and science to music and the arts, whose inventive thinking continuously fuels, inspires and engages young minds. Rocket launchers, historical re-enactments, digital stories, and other creative learning projects motivate students to challenge themselves, build leadership skills, and seek solutions.

MPTV is a community-supported service of Milwaukee Area Technical College. Since its inception, MPTV has inspired, entertained, and impacted the residents of Southeastern Wisconsin. Today, MPTV offers viewers a family of 10 digital channels, a full-service website, locally produced programming, outreach services for all ages, and numerous support opportunities. The MPTV main switchboard is open weekdays from 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. Viewer Services can be reached at 414-297-7520,, and at Twitter and Facebook. Feedback is always welcomed.

WPT is a service of the Educational Communications Board and the University of Wisconsin-Extension. Wisconsin Public Television is a place to grow through learning on WHA-TV/Madison; WPNE-TV/Green Bay; WHRM-TV/Wausau; WLEF-TV/Park Falls; WHLA-TV/La Crosse; and WHWC-TV/Menomonie-Eau Claire.