Press Releases

MPTV Writing Contest Winners Announced

March 16, 2012

Milwaukee, WI--Milwaukee Public Television has announced the 20 local winners of the 2012 PBS KIDS GO! Writers Contest, a competition for children in kindergarten through grade three.

The first place entries in each grade level will be submitted to the contest's national level where they will compete for a variety of prizes including a tablet computer, e-readers, and MP3 players. Local winners will receive digital cameras, art supplies, and other prizes.

An MPTV awards reception will be held for the recipients June 14 at Discovery World in Milwaukee. The winners also will see their stories as a program this summer on both MPTV HD 10.1 and MPTV HD 36.1.

Two special awards will be presented at the reception. The School Appreciation Award will recognize a teacher and school for their continuing efforts to encourage and prepare students to enter the contest. The MPTV Education Award will recognize an entrant's talents and potential with a one-week summer art class at Artist and Display in Milwaukee.

Milwaukee Public Television has sponsored the contest for 18 years in southeastern Wisconsin. This year a total of 619 original, illustrated books were submitted. The winners follow:


Special Merit:
Amanda Jiang
Sugar Goes Sledding
Sturtevant, WI

Blake Lardinois
Oma Can't Play
Bristol, WI

Third Place
Emily Maxon
Snow Cone
Union Grove, WI

Second Place
Jack Rewolinski
The Cowboy Who Lost His Boots
Caledonia, WI

First Place
Jake Rupert
Finding the Golden Rock
Racine, WI

Special Merit
Seliz Arizmendi
Making Rosabell Happy
Kenosha, WI

Jeremiah Taylor
Dad's Life as a Firefighter
Milwaukee, WI

Third Place
Himani Chonkar
What I Want To Be
Waukesha, WI

Second Place
Massimiliano Muro
Under My Bed
Milwaukee, WI

First Place
Luke Klabunde
The Swan's Surprise
Pell Lake, WI

Grade Two
Special Merit
Brooke Lindom
The Most Curious Mouse in the World
Salem, WI

Soraya Graciano
Alice's Quilt
West Bend, WI

Rowan Liljegren
When I Grow Up
Grafton, WI

Third Place
William Fisch
My Puppy Pickles
Bristol, WI

Second Place
James LaBell
The Big Problem
Kenosha, WI

First Place
Pasqualina Muro
Moon Light
Milwaukee, WI

Grade Three

Special Merit
Keelie Miller
The Indian Baby
Franksville, WI

Third Place
Hannah Curtin
The Boy Who Was Afraid of Everything
Racine, WI

Second Place
Lexi Stock
The Terrible Troubles of Ida No
Union Grove, WI

First Place
Lucianabella Muro
I Love You
Milwaukee, WI
Bruce Guadalupe Community School

Jacqueline Mary Dieck
Menomonee Falls, WI

Campbellsport Elementary School
Recipient: Cindra Delgado

Funding has been provided for MPTV's PBS Kids Go! Writers Contest by The Harley-Davidson Foundation.

Kay Tierney

Darlyne Haertlein